We use cookies and similar technologies that are necessary to operate the website. Additional cookies are used to perform analysis of website usage. By continuing to use our website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please read our Cookies Policy.

Closing this modal default settings will be saved.

UAE Permits Inbound Flights from Previously Restricted Countries

Owner's Profile

Staff Writer, TLR

Published on July 14, 2023, 17:41:00


UAErsquos General Civil Aviation Authority GCAA National

The UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) and the National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) have announced that inbound flight service from several African nations will resume.

Around a month ago, the UAE had banned inbound flights from Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, and Zimbabwe in the wake of the Omicron variant.

As per the statement made by the GCAA and NCEMA, all flights from the mentioned countries will be permitted effective from 14:30 on Saturday, January 29. All the COVID-19 protocols will be in place as a precautionary measure.

The statement also mentioned that those travelling to the UAE from the aforementioned countries must obtain a negative COVID-19 test within 48 hours from approved labs in their respective countries of departure. A Rapid-PCR test at the airports of departure and a PCR test upon arrival is also mandatory while following all relevant precautionary and preventative measures.

The official statement said that travel is not recommended for those who have COVID-19 symptoms.